Group 1515
Anchoring the Past

In the City's Dynamic Docklands

Heritage

The Cork City docklands intertwine a storied past with vibrant modernity, seamlessly integrating history and heritage into its urban fabric. Once a bustling industrial hub, the area now thrives as a living testament to its maritime legacy.

Preserved architectural remnants stand alongside contemporary structures, celebrating the city’s evolution while honoringits roots. Museums, cultural centers, and interpretive installations pay homage to the docklands’ historical significance,inviting residents and visitors alike to immerse themselves in a captivating journey through time, bridging the gap betweenyesterday and tomorrow.

1763

Construction of the Navigation Wall commences. For more than a century, the cut limestone walliserected in stages,starting in1763,reaching Barrington’s Avenue by1846.A famine relief scheme in the late-1840s sees the Navigation Wallwidened and extended to BlackrockPier, creating a new elm tree-linedroad, later named “The Marina”,after a similarly reclaimed piece ofland in Palermo, Sicily.

1814

Cork Harbour Commissioners holdtheir first meeting in 1814 andconstruction of their newheadquarters at Custom House iscompleted in 1818. The adjacent 16bay bonded warehousing continueto be developed until 1849.

1820 - 1830s

The “South Slob” marshlands(modern day South Docklands) arereclaimed through aprogramme oflong-term channel dredging by theHarbour Commissionersstarting inthe 1820s. Dredgedsiltis depositedbehind the Navigation Wall.

1847

From 1847 to 1850, the Cork-Passage railway line is constructed(operating continuously until 1932,when competition from motorisedbuses forces its closure).Other inter-urbanrail expansion in1856 sees the Great Southern &Western Railway company open anew passenger building and trainshed at Penrose Quay, laterreplaced in 1893 by the larger,more modern Kent Station.

1875

From 1875 to 1880 Cork becomes one of the first milling centres in Ireland to adopt the roller process,processing over 70,000 tons of wheat and 90,000 tons of maize annually. Multiple well-equipped millsare constructed during this time,including the Cork National Flour Mills complex at Cork’s south docks in 1892.

1917

Ford factory opens in CorkCity’sSouth Docklands, initiallyproducing Fordson tractors, beforeexpansion in 1921 enablesautomobile production to begin.The company quickly growsitspresence to 18 acres, with a 70,000square metre production line(equivalent to seven GAA fields).

1935

Dunlop factory opens within theSouth Docklands, on a site leased,and subsequently purchased from Ford.The factory produces tyres,golf and tennis balls, footwear and other rubberised goods including canvas shoes with rubber soles, aka‘rubber dollies’ as they were known in Cork

1954

ESB opensa new 60MW coal andoil-fired power generation station at the Marina, between ShandonBoat Club and the Dunlop factory.In 1964, capacity is increased to 120MW, then to 205MW in 1979,following discovery of offshore gas.By 2008, capacity has reduced to 90MW, before eventual closure of the station in 2018.

1984

The Ford factory closes with the loss ofmore than800 jobs, despite an investment of £10 million two years before, to convert the plant to produce the Sierra model car. The factory’s output could not compete with that of larger foreign factories.

2016 –2021

The regeneration ofCorkDocklandscommences–€500M +investment in new commercialdevelopmentsat 1Albert Quay,Navigation Square, Penrose Dockand HQ at Horgan’s Quay,leads tothe creationof more than 5,000jobs.

2021

Marina Park Phase 1 openson thesite of the old Cork AgriculturalShowgrounds, marking a €9.5million public sector investment inpublic realm and amenityinfrastructure.

1780

CorkCorporationprepare amasterplanforthe marsh land‘between the two river channels’created by the new navigation wallto the eastof the main city, referredto as ‘the South Slob’.Theplan envisionsaGeorgiangrid-style urban development, withlarge90 feetwide central ‘GreatStreet’, a large public square to itseast and a circular quay 50 feetwide.

1829

In 1829, the CorkHarbourCommissioners construct ashipyard, patent slip andsteamworks at a site between modern dayWater Street and Lower GlanmireRoad.In the 1870sanenormousgridironstructure was constructedbeside the slipwayat CastleviewTerrace, upon whichto repairships.At its height in the 19th& 20thcenturies, Cork’s shipbuildingindustry employs almost 2,000people.

1840

In the 1840sa public parkisplanned for the reclaimedmarshlands, which opens duringthe1850sas the “City Park”.In 1869 Sir John Arnott leaseslands within the “City Park” toestablish a racecourse. Regularrace meetings are held until 1917,when the racecourse closes to makeway for the new Ford Factory.

1858

In 1858, Cork Harbour RowingClub is founded. Asplit in 1868seesthe founding of QueensCollege Rowing Club, whobuildtheir first boathouseat The Marinain 1871.In 1877, Queens College RCchange their name to Shandon BoatClub(owing toalack of “collegemen”inthe club), and in1896 theinitial boathouse is demolished andreplaced by the building still usetoday, designed by renowned Corkarchitect, James McMullen(whoalso designed the Honan

1890 -1976

In early 1890s, Cork County Boardfirst holds Gaelic games within the Cork Agricultural Showgrounds. In 1903, the CCB secures a lease for six acres within the showground to build a stadium, the Cork Athletic Grounds, which opens in 1904,operating continuously until 1974,when it is demolished and rebuilt as the 50,000 capacity Páirc UíChaoimh

1934 - 1936

Construction of a new 12,500 tonsilo and modern flour-milling complex for the Cork Milling Company (formerly Cork National Flour Mills) is completed at Victoria (now Kennedy) Quay. This modernised plant would be taken over by Odlums in 1965, until its eventual closure in 2009, after which the silos are demolished.

1945

The iconic R&H Hall grain silosare constructed at Victoria Quay,further emphasising Cork City’sposition as one of the main bulkcerealhandling and processingfacilities of the time.

1983

Dunlop factory closes, with inexcess of 850 jobs lost, less thanhalf of the 1,800 staff employed atthe factory’s peak in 1972.

2015-17

Páirc Uí Chaoimh stadiumundergoes a major upgrade,increasing capacity to 45,000

2021

Cork City Council secure €353.4million in funding for enablinginfrastructure for theredevelopment of the CorkDocklands, through the Departmentof Housing, Local Government &Heritage’s Urban Regeneration &Development Fund

2022

Opening of Phase 1 of Cork City to Passage Greenway,a high-quality recreation and commuter corridor between the SouthDocklands and Mahon tracing the route of the 19th century Cork, Blackrock, and Passage railway.

Heritage

The Cork City docklands intertwine a storied past with vibrant modernity, seamlessly integrating history and heritage into its urban fabric. Once a bustling industrial hub, the area now thrives as a living testament to its maritime legacy.

Preserved architectural remnants stand alongside contemporary structures, celebrating the city’s evolution while honoringits roots. Museums, cultural centers, and interpretive installations pay homage to the docklands’ historical significance,inviting residents and visitors alike to immerse themselves in a captivating journey through time, bridging the gap betweenyesterday and tomorrow.

C18th

Construction of the Navigation Wall commences. For more than a century, the cut limestone walliserected in stages,starting in1763,reaching Barrington’s Avenue by1846.A famine relief scheme in the late-1840s sees the Navigation Wallwidened and extended to BlackrockPier, creating a new elm tree-linedroad, later named “The Marina”,after a similarly reclaimed piece ofland in Palermo, Sicily.

Map of Cork South Docks, 1774(source: Cork City Library)***Licensed copy required***

1763

1780

(Source:TBC)***Licensed copy required***

CorkCorporationprepare amasterplanforthe marsh land‘between the two river channels’created by the new navigation wallto the eastof the main city, referredto as ‘the South Slob’.Theplan envisionsaGeorgiangrid-style urban development, withlarge90 feetwide central ‘GreatStreet’, a large public square to itseast and a circular quay 50 feetwide.

C19th

Cork Harbour Commissioners holdtheir first meeting in 1814 andconstruction of their newheadquarters at Custom House iscompleted in 1818. The adjacent 16bay bonded warehousing continueto be developed until 1849.

(Source: TBC)***Licensed copy required***

1814

1829

Source: www.geohive.ie/ OSi***Licensed copy required***

n 1829, the CorkHarbourCommissioners construct ashipyard, patent slip andsteamworks at a site between modern dayWater Street and Lower GlanmireRoad.In the 1870sanenormousgridironstructure was constructedbeside the slipwayat CastleviewTerrace, upon whichto repairships.At its height in the 19th& 20thcenturies, Cork’s shipbuildingindustry employs almost 2,000people.

The “South Slob” marshlands(modern day South Docklands) arereclaimed through aprogramme oflong-term channel dredging by theHarbour Commissionersstarting inthe 1820s. Dredgedsiltis depositedbehind the Navigation Wall.

Map of Cork South Docks, 1832(source: Cork City Library)***Licensed copy required***

1820 - 1830s

1840s

City Park Races, 1870 from IllustratedLondon News (source: Cork CityLibrary)***Licensed copy required***

In the 1840sa public parkisplanned for the reclaimedmarshlands, which opens duringthe1850sas the “City Park”.In 1869 Sir John Arnott leaseslands within the “City Park” toestablish a racecourse. Regularrace meetings are held until 1917,when the racecourse closes to makeway for the new Ford Factory.

From 1847 to 1850, the Cork-Passage railway line is constructed(operating continuously until 1932,when competition from motorisedbuses forces its closure).Other inter-urbanrail expansion in1856 sees the Great Southern &Western Railway company open anew passenger building and trainshed at Penrose Quay, laterreplaced in 1893 by the larger,more modern Kent Station.

(Source: TBC)***Licensed copy required***

1847

1858

FormerShandon Rowing Clubbuildingc.1890 (source: NationalLibrary of Ireland)***Licensed copy required***

In 1858, Cork Harbour RowingClub is founded. Asplit in 1868seesthe founding of QueensCollege Rowing Club, whobuildtheir first boathouseat The Marinain 1871.In 1877, Queens College RCchange their name to Shandon BoatClub(owing toalack of “collegemen”inthe club), and in1896 theinitial boathouse is demolished andreplaced by the building still usetoday, designed by renowned Corkarchitect, James McMullen(whoalso designed the Honan Chapel inUniversity College Cork).

From 1875 to 1880 Cork becomes one of the first milling centres in Ireland to adopt the roller process,processing over 70,000 tons of wheat and 90,000 tons of maize annually. Multiple well-equipped millsare constructed during this time,including the Cork National Flour Mills complex at Cork’s south docks in 1892.

(Cork National Flour Mills, c.1919(source: Cork City Library)

1875

1890 -1976

Former Cork Showgrounds and CorkAthletic Grounds c.1972 (source:TBC)***Licensed copy required***

n early 1890s, Cork County Boardfirst holds Gaelic games within the Cork Agricultural Showgrounds. In 1903, the CCB secures a lease for six acres within the showground to build a stadium, the Cork Athletic Grounds, which opens in 1904,operating continuously until 1974,when it is demolished and rebuilt as the 50,000 capacity Páirc UíChaoimh

C20th

Ford factory opens in CorkCity’sSouth Docklands, initiallyproducing Fordson tractors, beforeexpansion in 1921 enablesautomobile production to begin.The company quickly growsitspresence to 18 acres, with a 70,000square metre production line(equivalent to seven GAA fields).

Ford Factory Cork c.1920

1917

1934 - 1936

Grain siloconstructedfor Cork MillingCompany,c.1934(source:IrishExaminer)***Licensed copy required***

Construction of a new 12,500 tonsilo and modern flour-milling complex for the Cork Milling Company (formerly Cork National Flour Mills) is completed at Victoria (now Kennedy) Quay. This modernised plant would be taken over by Odlums in 1965, until its eventual closure in 2009, after which the silos are demolished.

Dunlop factory opens within theSouth Docklands, on a site leased,and subsequently purchased from Ford.The factory produces tyres,golf and tennis balls, footwear and other rubberised goods including canvas shoes with rubber soles, aka‘rubber dollies’ as they were known in Cork

VIP visitors to Cork Dunlopfactoryc.1936(source: National Library ofIreland)

1935

1945

R&H Hall silos(source:Kieran McCarthy)***Licensed copy required***

The iconic R&H Hall grain silosare constructed at Victoria Quay,further emphasising Cork City’sposition as one of the main bulkcerealhandling and processingfacilities of the time.

ESB opensa new 60MW coal andoil-fired power generation station at the Marina, between ShandonBoat Club and the Dunlop factory.In 1964, capacity is increased to 120MW, then to 205MW in 1979,following discovery of offshore gas.By 2008, capacity has reduced to 90MW, before eventual closure of the station in 2018.

1954

1983

Dunlop workers at plant for last day30/09/83(ref no 279/030)***Licensed copy required***

Dunlop factory closes, with inexcess of 850 jobs lost, less thanhalf of the 1,800 staff employed atthe factory’s peak in 1972.

The Ford factory closes with the loss ofmore than800 jobs, despite an investment of £10 million two years before, to convert the plant to produce the Sierra model car. The factory’s output could not compete with that of larger foreign factories.

Placeholder…***Licensed image required***

1984

C21th

2015 -2017

Former Cork Showgrounds and CorkAthletic Grounds c.1972 (source:TBC)***Licensed copy required***

Páirc Uí Chaoimh stadiumundergoes a major upgrade,increasing capacity to 45,000

The regeneration ofCorkDocklandscommences–€500M +investment in new commercialdevelopmentsat 1Albert Quay,Navigation Square, Penrose Dockand HQ at Horgan’s Quay,leads tothe creationof more than 5,000jobs.

2016 –2021

2021

Cork City Council secure €353.4million in funding for enablinginfrastructure for theredevelopment of the CorkDocklands, through the Departmentof Housing, Local Government &Heritage’s Urban Regeneration &Development Fund

Marina Park Phase 1 openson thesite of the old Cork AgriculturalShowgrounds, marking a €9.5million public sector investment inpublic realm and amenityinfrastructure.

2021

2022

Opening of Phase 1 of Cork City to Passage Greenway,a high-quality recreation and commuter corridor between the SouthDocklands and Mahon tracing the route of the 19th century Cork, Blackrock, and Passage railway.

Anchoring the Past

In the City's Dynamic Docklands

1898

The Cork City docklands intertwine a storied past with vibrant modernity, seamlessly integrating history and heritage into its urban fabric.

1898

The Cork City docklands intertwine a storied past with vibrant modernity, seamlessly integrating history and heritage into its urban fabric.

1898

The Cork City docklands intertwine a storied past with vibrant modernity, seamlessly integrating history and heritage into its urban fabric.

1898

The Cork City docklands intertwine a storied past with vibrant modernity, seamlessly integrating history and heritage into its urban fabric.